auctions |  biography | message boards | faq | links | bibliography | multimedia | exclusives | gifts | home |
Hemingway Travel Stickers

got Papa? shirts, mugs and more!
Custom Euro Oval Stickers
Oval Stickers and Euro Stickers

Active TopicsActive Topics  Display List of Forum MembersMemberlist  Search The ForumSearch  HelpHelp
  RegisterRegister  LoginLogin
General Questions (Forum Locked Forum Locked)
 Ernest Hemingway Message Boards : General Questions
Subject Topic: Cuban Newspaper Articles Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
Brian Mahoney

Online Status: Online
Posted: 25 October 2005 at 10:58am | IP Logged Quote Brian Mahoney

My name is Brian Mahoney and I am a freshman at the College of William and Mary in Williamsburg, V.A. I am currently enrolled in a seminar on Hemingway and am writing a research paper on the Cuban response to the writer. Conventional wisdom holds that "Papa" was embraced by all Cubans as a great man, an honorary citizen, and a welcomed visitor to the island. However, considering the polemical issues of American-Cuba relations, such an idea seems too myopic and simple. I was wondering if anyone had any knowledge of Cuban literature which DID NOT embrace the writer's presence on the island, particularly newspaper articles and literary reviews. It does not matter if they are in Spanish. Thank you very much.

Brian Mahoney

Back to Top View Brian Mahoney's Profile Search for other posts by Brian Mahoney

Mike Galvin
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator

Online Status: Offline
Posted: 25 October 2005 at 4:34pm | IP Logged Quote Mike Galvin

A good reference book for you would be Norberto Fuentes book Hemingway In Cuba.

Mike
Back to Top View Mike Galvin's Profile Search for other posts by Mike Galvin

Daughter

Posted: 25 October 2005 at 4:40pm | IP Logged Quote Daughter

Brian,