auctions |  biography | message boards | faq | links | bibliography | multimedia | exclusives | gifts | home |
Hemingway Travel Stickers

got Papa? shirts, mugs and more!
Custom Euro Oval Stickers
Oval Stickers and Euro Stickers

Active TopicsActive Topics  Display List of Forum MembersMemberlist  Search The ForumSearch  HelpHelp
  RegisterRegister  LoginLogin
General Questions (Forum Locked Forum Locked)
 Ernest Hemingway Message Boards : General Questions
Subject Topic: Author questions for Hemingway project Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
izzoh

Online Status: Offline
Posted: 30 October 2006 at 10:56pm | IP Logged Quote izzoh

I am new to Hemingway, loving my research for a project.  I need lots of perspectives on this statement:  I have to be able to support this: or argue this:

Hemingway's self centered world- How his views limited his life and influenced American culture negatively.

(So underneath his greatness... he was  a human man with faults and failings.)

What are your opinions on this?

Back to Top View izzoh's Profile Search for other posts by izzoh

bookman
Contributor
Contributor

Posted: 31 October 2006 at 12:05am | IP Logged Quote bookman

I'd argue it. Despite his failings, or self-centeredness, few lives were as full, exciting, and important as his, and he was always thirsty for knowledge and new experiences as fuel for his writing.
His total dedication to these pursuits and the craft of writing could be considered self-centered, certainly, and did negatively affect his marriages and relationships with his children. In addition, his competitiveness was detrimental to some friendships, but I wouldn't consider that to have been limiting to his life, as a whole.
I would also suggest that his contribution to literature, and literacy, in bringing in a new style of writing, could only be viewed as a positive for American culture.
Back to Top View bookman's Profile Search for other posts by bookman

Peter Krynicki